“You called me pitiful.”

To read “No Regrets” from the beginning, please click HERE.

Quick Recap: A drunken, disgusting young man — Willie Morse — was caught stealing at the mercantile. A pretty  young woman — Hattie Mae — expressed her opinions of him. As she spoke to the store owners and shared a few thoughts about her decision to pursue a career in nursing, a crowd rushed forward. Hattie guessed at once that an accident had happened…and she figured Willie Morse was probably involved.  Indeed, she stepped outside to a gruesome scene. Willie was lying in the road, bleeding profusely from a gash to his leg. She determined that he was still alive, and then rushed to the hospital. A procession of men carrying Willie followed close behind. 

To Hattie’s dismay, the doctor’s wife — who usually assists him — was away. There wasn’t time to summon her. Although not trained, Hattie would have to step up and help Dr. Kellerman during the surgery to save Willie’s leg. Carefully following the doctor’s orders, Hattie administered ether. As the surgery continued, she founds herself gaining courage and strength.

Willie awakened following the surgery and realized he was still alive. He lamented his pathetic life.  As he lay crying, he realized a young woman — with a familiar voice — was in the room with him.

In today’s “snippet”, the young nurse tends to him. Enjoy!


When Willie opened his eyes, he turned to gaze at the girl’s face. Now that she stood close, and with the golden light illuminating the room, he could see her clearly. He remembered when and where he’d seen her.

“You were at the mercantile.”

“Hush, no need to talk. It’s important you save your breath.”

“You called me pitiful.”

A sigh rushed from her delicate pink lips. “Indeed. In fact, I called you plumb pitiful. I was wrong to speak so uncharitably toward you. You have my apology.”

Her hand still rested on his brow. When she drew back and stepped away from the bed, Willie regretted the loss of her touch.

“You don’t have to be sorry for what you said. You’re right. I’m plumb pitiful.”

Blue Divider

“No Regrets” is the fourth book of “The Sunset Series”. It is scheduled for release from Secret Cravings Publishing in July, 2015.

You can find all books in the series at Amazon and other online book-sellers. Each book is a “stand-alone” story — no cliff-hangers, no unfinished endings. Follow the lives and loves of the men and women of Sunset, Colorado.

Book 1 Not the Marrying Kind

Book 2 Keeping Faith

Book 3 He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Blue Divider

Click HERE for more “Sneak Peeks” from your favorite romance authors!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s