No Regrets – No Time for That

To read “No Regrets” from the beginning, please click HERE.

Quick Recap: A drunken, disgusting young man — Willie Morse — was caught stealing at the mercantile. A pretty  young woman — Hattie Mae — expressed her opinions of him. As she spoke to the store owners and shared a few thoughts about her decision to pursue a career in nursing, a crowd rushed forward. Hattie guessed at once that an accident had happened…and she figured Willie Morse was probably involved.  Indeed, she stepped outside to a gruesome scene. Willie was lying the road, bleeding profusely from a gash to his leg. She determined that he was still alive, and then rushed to the hospital. A procession of men carrying Willie followed close behind. 

In today’s “Snippet”, Dr. Kellerman has already begun setting up his operating table. 

Hattie Nurse

“Where is Mrs. Kellerman?” Hattie pressed her hands to her aching sides, struggling to catch her breath. “If you’ll tell me where she is…”

Abner shook his head. “No time for that. She’s off visiting with Lucille and the grandchildren.” His attention turned then to the open doorway and the injured man. “What happened to him? Where’s he hurt?”

A short, rotund  farmer with a long gray beard waddled forward. “Left leg looks pretty bad.” He jerked a thumb toward the stretcher. “Damned fool stepped right out in front of Jed’s wagon. Lucky he didn’t get himself killed.”

“Maybe that’s what he was trying to do.” Abner let out a long breath. “Get him on the table, gentlemen. I’ll have a look at him.” But instead, his eyes focused on Hattie. “Wash up, Miss Richards. You’ll have to assist me.”

“I can’t help you.” Her heart pounded. “I haven’t been properly trained yet.” Pushing her way toward the door, she drew in a deep breath. The noise and confusion assailed her, making her dizzy. “I’ll go for your wife, sir, she’ll be able–”

“I’ve told you, there isn’t time enough. Now, listen to what I say, and do exactly as I tell you.”


Blue Divider

“No Regrets” is the fourth book of “The Sunset Series”. It is scheduled for release from Secret Cravings Publishing in July, 2015.

You can find all books in the series at Amazon and other online book-sellers. Each book is a “stand-alone” story — no cliff-hangers, no unfinished endings. Follow the lives and loves of the men and women of Sunset, Colorado.

Book 1 Not the Marrying Kind

Book 2 Keeping Faith

Book 3 He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Blue Divider

Click HERE for more “Sneak Peeks” from your favorite romance authors!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s